Profiles

Salvador Villanueva

“One of the main reasons I chose Central was because of the soccer team, but the sense of community on campus and the study abroad programs were just as important.”

Salvador Villanueva

Major:  Biology and Spanish

What residence hall do you live in? McKee Hall

What are your future goals?Upon graduation from Central and getting accepted into one of my top three picks for grad school, I plan to major in physical therapy.

Why did you choose Central? One of the main reasons I chose Central was because of the soccer team, but along with that I really liked the “small school” feel and the sense of community around campus. Central also has a great study abroad program, which I think really did it for me.

Have you studied abroad, or do you plan to? During the spring semester of my sophomore year, I had the great opportunity to study abroad in the beautiful city of Granada in Spain.

What activities do you participate in on and off campus? I am on the Central men’s soccer team, which is responsible for most of my activities on campus. I belong to the Biology Club and I work for intramural sports.

What has been your favorite class? I’ve had a few classes that I really liked, but my favorites so far have been Diversity of Life and Ecology because of their heavy involvement with the outdoors.

Who has been your favorite professor? Why? My favorite professor is Dr. Sam Mate-Kodjo because every class period you are bound to learn something you weren’t expecting as he is very knowledgeable and leads the class into interesting discussions. He also really likes soccer, which is an area of interest we share and talk about.

Have you done any internships? Do you plan to? This summer I completed over 40 observation hours at an outpatient physical therapy clinic, which was very cool as I am interested in taking that career path. I also plan on being able to land an internship at the hospital involved with some of the physical therapy they do there, so I can get a feel for a different work environment.

Hobbies/Interests: Most of my hobbies and interests revolve around soccer, but I also enjoy any type of outdoor activity. I love pursuing pretty sights that nature gifts us. However, while indoors, I like watching Netflix or gaming. Good quality time with family or friends is always welcomed.

Fun fact about yourself: I was born in Mexico.

Favorite food in Central Market: My favorite food has to be fruit pizza.

What has been your favorite Central Memory so far? All of my experiences while studying abroad.

What do you like about your major? I like being a biology major because it challenges me, but also being a Spanish major is awesome because I get to speak the language I grew up speaking and through the literature we read, I get to learn about how diverse the language is.

What book are you currently reading? “The Sellout” by Paul Beatty.

What does the Journey Scholarship mean to you? I can’t thank my donors enough for their help. When it comes to paying for college every little bit helps. It means a lot to myself as well as to my family that there are selfless people out there willing to help you live out your dreams.

 

Read more profiles