Jeremy Caracci

“I love the social science major because I have a lot of freedom with the classes I get to take.”

Jeremy Caracci

Major: Social science

What are your future goals? In the future, I would love to have a family and be a school administrator at a public high school. I’ve considered becoming a college professor as well.

What activities do you participate in on and off campus? I am a runner on the Cross Country and Track teams as well as being a co-vice president of the Fellowship of Christian Athletes. I am also a co-technology coordinator for the Campus Activities Board. I also attend Saint Mary’s Catholic Church in Pella.

What has been your favorite class? My favorite class would have to have been status and inequality in social life with Jon Witt. In that class, we looked at social inequalities throughout the country as well as think of solutions to change the way social stratifications play out in America. I loved that class because we very rarely sat in class and got lectured, instead the discussion was fed off other students’ ideas which led to great group discussions every day.

Who has been your favorite professor? Why? I have a four-way tie between my favorite professors. I have loved every sociology course I have taken here and Jon Witt, Shawn Wick and Dawn Reece have all done an excellent job. All their classes have had ample opportunities for group discussion and they have all stretched my thinking on sociological issues. I also have loved the two classes I have taken with Karen Cleveland. She is a counselor at Pine Rest, a mental health facility in Pella and has some awesome real-life experience that she shares with the class.

Have you done any internships? Do you plan to? Other than CTA, it is difficult to have internships in the education world. During the summers, I work at Johnston’s day camp program called Kids Teen Connection. There we spend the beginning hours of the day in classroom time and go on field trips around the Des Moines area during the afternoons. It’s a great way to gain experience with kids, and going on the field trips isn’t half bad either!

Hobbies/interests: I enjoy running, riding my bike, playing guitar and traveling to Bethel University in Minnesota to spend time with my girlfriend. During the summers, I love boating, water skiing, wake boarding and tubing.

Favorite food in Central Market: The cook to order omelets and the cook to order eggs; they make breakfast at 7 a.m. more bearable.

What has been your favorite Central memory so far? My favorite memory has been the trip some of my cross-country teammates and I took to Colorado. We spent our entire spring break last year traveling around the Colorado area and tent camping in the state and national parks. That was the first time I had been out in that area and it was some of the most beautiful places I’ve ever seen.

What do you like about your major? I love social science because I have a lot of freedom with what classes I want to take. Within the major, you pick three or four content areas that you want to teach in the future. Each area then requires around 15 credits worth of classes within that area.

What are you reading? I just finished the book Love Does by Bob Goff. It’s an autobiography which tells how he used his experiences to share the love of God. His stories are remarkable and it’s a super easy read.

What are your plans after graduation? I plan to teach somewhere in the Midwest and start my graduate degree.