• 30 Iowa Conference titles
  • 20 NCAA Div. III playoff berths
  • No losing seasons since 1960
  • Fourth-winningest NCAA football team since 1975 (.796)

Follow football on...


Central’s Doehrmann named national scholar-athlete semifinalist

Football | Sept. 30, 2012

PELLA—Central College senior running back Ross Doehrmann (Williamsburg) is one of 147 semifinalists for the National Football Foundation (NFF) National Scholar-Athlete Award.

The honor recognizes student-athletes that are successful on and off the field. To qualify for the award, student-athletes must be a senior or graduate student in their final year of eligibility, have a 3.2 or better cumulative grade point average (4.0 scale), have outstanding football ability as a first-team player or significant contributor and have demonstrated strong leadership and citizenship.

The class of semifinalists includes scholar-athletes from the Football Bowl Subdivision, Football Championship Subdivision, NCAA Divisions I, II and III and the NAIA. The class was chosen by the NFF awards committee, which is comprised of nationally recognized media, college football hall of famers and athletics administrators.

The committee will determine up to 16 award winners who will receive an $18,000 postgraduate scholarship and compete for the William V. Campbell Trophy, which recognizes one player as the best football scholar-athlete in the nation. The 16 finalists will be announced Oct. 25 and will travel to New York City Dec. 4 to be recognized at the NFF annual awards dinner. The winner of the Campbell trophy, announced at the awards dinner, receives an additional $7,000 postgraduate scholarship and a 25-pound bronze trophy.

Doehrmann is a three-year letterwinner for the Dutch. Entering the 2012 season, Doehrmann started 17 of 24 games and scored nine career touchdowns. He rushed for 1,228 yards on 274 attempts, averaging 51.2 yards per game and 4.5 yards per carry.

In the classroom, Doehrmann carries a 3.87 GPA with a biology major. He is a two-time CoSIDA Capital One Academic All-District honoree. Doehrmann is also a two-time academic all-Iowa Conference selection and member of Alpha Zeta Mu. Doehrmann serves on Central’s Student Senate and is also active in the Knights of Columbus.

Doehrmann is one of 41 nominees from Division III and one of four from the league, joining Dubuque quarterback Wyatt Hanus, Simpson linebacker Mark Cronin and Wartburg defensive back Garrett McGrane.

Past recipients of the Campbell trophy include Peyton Manning (1997) and Tim Tebow (2009). Brandon Roberts of Division III Washington–St. Louis (Mo.) received the honor in 2002.

Central College