• Four NCAA Div. III championships
  • National record 27 NCAA playoff berths
  • 13 national finals appearances
  • 66 NFCA All-America Scholar-Athletes since 2010

Follow softball on...


Honors and awards

Kelly Harris
In 2008 catcher Kelly Harris became the eighth Central player to win Iowa Conference MVP honors and was also a third-team all-America honoree.

Honors and awards

Central's Iowa Conference MVPs

Year Player Position
1987 Laurie Sutten Pitcher
1988 Brenda Vigness Pitcher
1991 Christi Van Werden Second base
1993 Emily Grimes Pitcher
1996 Missey Allen Pitcher
2003 Libby Hysell Pitcher
2004 Corrie Schmidt Pitcher
2008 Kelly Harris Catcher
2009 +Megan Swingen Pitcher
2010 ++Katie Tenboer First base
2012 ++Annie Sarcone Shortstop
2013 ++Caitlyn Meyer Catcher
2015 ++Abbey Strajack Second base

+Pitcher of the year
++Position player of the year

Iowa Conference Coach of the Year

Coach Year
George Wares 2011
George Wares 2009
George Wares 2004
George Wares 2003
George Wares 2002
George Wares 2000
George Wares 1993
George Wares 1990


Central softball field

Central's NCAA Division III statistical champions


Year Category Player Statistic
1991 Most victories Jamie Mahnke 26
1993 Lowerst ERA Missey Allen 0.25
1996 Lowest ERA Kara Stanley 0.66



Year Category Statistic
1987 Lowest ERA 0.72
1989 Lowest ERA 0.53
1991 Lowest ERA 0.79
1992 Most stolen bases 120
1993 Most stolen bases 136
1993 Highest winning percentage .950 (38-2)
2012 Most stolen bases 127

Speedline/NFCA Division III Softball Coaching Staff of the Year

2003- George Wares, head coach; Sam Vande Weerd, Teresa Thompson, Marcy Roff

NFCA Top 10 Academic team

1997 - 6th
2000 - 9th

NFCA Scholar Athletes

Year Players    
2000 Denise Barnard Mandy Jens Mary Vande Hoef
  Daniela Grob Kelly Oliver Annie Van Wetzinga
  Donell Hotze Molly Parrott Jamie Waterman
  Dawn Howard Ellen Thompson  
2007 Laura Anderson Kristen Friedrichs Tina Shimak
  Natalie Deming Alysha Overturf Amy Zellmer
  Ryann Engholm Lacey Ritscher  
2010 Shanna Aberson Taylor Larkin Allysa Stephens
  Natalie Deming Kiley Lythberg Katie Tenboer
  Jess Edler Taryn Pennington Holly Von Fumetti
  Bethany Koskamp Hallie Schon  
2011 Lexi Cessna Brie Haycraft Emily Te Brink
  Mycaela Crouse Kiley Lythberg Katie Tenboer
  Jess Edler Jordan Overland Rachel Whiteside
  Rachael Everingham Heidi Reburn  
  Chelsea Greiner Trysh Shimak  
2012 Lexi Cessna Chelsea Greiner Dana Van Renterghem
  Shannon Coulson Brie Haycraft Holly Von Fumetti
  Angela Davis Jordan Overland  
  Jess Edler Emily Te Brink  
2013 Lexi Cessna Jordan Overland Whitney Sowers
  Chelsea Greiner Heidi Reburn Emily Te Brink
  Brie Haycraft Trisha Smith Dana Van Renterghem
2014 Katie Canney Mikayla Heath Taylor Sohn
  Lexi Cessna Chelsea Greiner Abbey Strajack
  Shannon Coulson Jordan Overland Dana Van Renterghem
  Brie Haycraft Karlee Rock  


Central College